Hongfu Temple in Guiyang
Hongfu Temple, located in Qianling Mountain in the center of Guiyang City, was founded by Chisong Monk (1634-1706) in the 11th year of the reign of Emperor Kangxi of the Qing Dynasty (1672). It was initially called "Hongfu Temple" and later changed to "Hongfu Temple".
Chinese Name: 宏福寺
English Name: Hongfu Temple
Type: Cultural Scenic Area, Guizhou famous spots & Buddhist attractions
Best Time: All Year Around
Recommended Visiting Hours: 3-5 hours
Opening Hours:all day long
Location: Qianling mountain in the center of Guiyang city
Why is Hongfu Temple so Special?
Built in 1672 in Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) by Monk Chisong, Hongfu Temple is the most important Buddhism temple in Guizhou Province. Its name Hongfu means to expand the Buddha’s will of salvation, and to benefit all living creatures. Hongfu Temple was listed into the 142 national key Buddhism temples in 1983, and under the province’s protection at the same year.
The temple was originally built in 1672, eleventh year of the Kangxi Emperor, by monk Chisong (赤松), under the Qing dynasty(1644–1911). After the Parinirvana of Chisong, his disciple Zhai Mai (翟脉) succeeded the abbot. In 1739, in the 4th year of Qianlong period, the Qing government bestowed a set of Chinese Buddhist canon on the temple.
In 1929, monk Guoyao (果瑶) founded the Guizhou Buddhist College in the temple.
After the founding of the Communist State, master Huaiyi (怀一) served as abbot of Hongfu Temple.
During the ten-year Cultural Revolution, the temple was dilapidated with huge losses of the cultural relics.
After the 3rd Plenary Session of the 11th Central Committee of the Chinese Communist Party in 1983, Hongfu Temple was designated as a National Key Buddhist Temple in Han Chinese Area by the State Council of China.
On July 28, 1987, the government transferred the management rights to the temple.
Now the existing main buildings include the Shanmen, Four Heavenly Kings Hall, Mahavira Hall, Hall of Guanyin, Hall of Maitreya, Buddhist Texts Library, and Pilu Pavilion (毗卢阁).
Under the eaves of the Shanmen is a plaque with the Chinese characters “Hongfu Temple” written by the former Venerable Master of the Buddhist Association of ChinaZhao Puchu. A pair of Chinese guardian lions stands on both sides of the Shanmen.
A biggest copper bell is stored in the Bell tower. The 1,500-kilogram (3,300 lb) copper bell was cast in 1469 during the mid-Ming dynasty (1368–1644).
Four Heavenly Kings Hall
Maitreya is enshrined in the Hall of Heavenly Kings. Four Heavenly Kings’ statues are enshrined in the left and right side of the hall.
Hall of Guanyin
The statue of 32 Armed Guanyin is enshrined in the Hall of Guanyin, 32 arms represent 32 incarnation of Guanyin. At the back of Guanyin is a statue of Skanda.
The Mahavira Hall enshrining the Three Saints of Hua-yan (华严三圣). In the middle is Sakyamuni, statues of Manjushri and Samantabhadra stand on the left and right sides of Sakyamuni’s statue. In front of Sakyamuni stand Ananda and Kassapa Buddha on the left and right. The statues of Eighteen Arhats stand on both sides of the hall.
Jade Buddha Hall
The Jade Buddha Hall houses a sitting jade statue of Sakyamuni, which is 1.5-metre (4 ft 11 in) high, 1.2-metre (3 ft 11 in) wide and weighting 900-kilogram (2,000 lb). The statue came from Yangon, Myanmar.
Precious cultural relics and historical sites in the temple
A great many precious cultural relics and historical sites are found in Hongfu Temple; the ancient Jiuqu Path, the Ancient Buddhism Cave that toured by Xu Xiake (徐霞客, a famous traveler and writer of Ming Dynasty), Tower Forest for past abbots of the temple, tablets corridor with poetry inscribed by Chu De, Dong Biwu, etc. ancient bronze bell of Ming Dynasty, kinds of sutras, and over 100 calligraphies and paintings collected from famous calligraphers and painters.
1. Changshu No.102, No.120, No.5, No.7, No.8 and No.9 “Xingfu” stops, walk 900 meters to the southwest along si Lu street. 2. Yushan scenic spot can take Changshu tour line 1 “Zushi” station to get there.