Wuhu Overview

Chinese Name: 芜湖市 English IPA: Location: Population (city): Language: Zip code: Tel code: Time zone:

Wuhu (simplified Chinese: 芜湖; traditional Chinese: 蕪湖; pinyin: Wúhú; literally “Weedy Lake”) is a prefecture-level city in southeastern Anhui province, China. Sitting on the southeast bank of the Yangtze River, Wuhu borders Xuancheng to the southeast, Chizhou and Tongling to the southwest, Hefei city to the northwest, Ma’anshan city to the northeast, Jiangsu Province to the east, and is approximately 90 km (56 mi) southwest of Nanjing. As of 2017, the city had a population of approximately 3,696,000 officially registered inhabitants.


The prefecture-level city of Wuhu administers 8 county-level divisions, including 4 districts and 4 counties.

Name Simplified Chinese Pinyin Population Postal Code
Sanshan District 三山区 Sānshān Qū 150,000 241080
Yijiang District 弋江区 Yìjiāng Qū 328,000 241002
Jinghu District 镜湖区 Jìnghú Qū 555,000 340202
Jiujiang District 鸠江区 Jiūjiāng Qū 61,000 241000
Wuhu County 芜湖县 Wúhú Xiàn 299,000 241100
Fanchang County 繁昌县 Fánchāng Xiàn 268,000 241200
Nanling County 南陵县 Nánlíng Xiàn 550,500 241300
Wuwei County 无为县 Wúwéi Xiàn 1,033,000 238300

Other Destinations in Wuhu

Wuhu Attractions

More Wuhu Attractions >>

Wuhu Tours

Climate & When to Go

More Wuhu Climate & When to Go >>


More Wuhu Transportation >>

Festivals and Activities

More Wuhu Festivals and Activities >>

Travel Tips

More Wuhu Travel Tips >>

Useful Maps

More Wuhu Useful Maps >>

Wuhu Accommodation

More Wuhu Accommodation >>

Other Hot Destinations in China