Diqing Culture


There are 16 minorities in Diqing Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture. Among them, 9 minorities have a population of more than 9,000. The main minority ethnic group in Diqing is  Tibetan, in addition to Han, Naxi, Yi, Bai, Dai, Zhuang, Miao, Hui, Lisu, Lahu, Wa, Yao, Jingpo, Blang, etc.

There are one city and two counties in this prefecture: Shangri-La City(香格里拉), Deqin County(德钦县), and Weixi Lisu Autonomous County(维西傈僳族自治). And they all used to be under the administration of Lijiang (located southeast of this prefecture). Diqing Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture was established in 1957.